Conference of County Court Judges of Florida Award Recipients and Officer Swearing In Ceremony

PRESS RELEASE: Virtual Awards and Installation of Officers and Directors Ceremony 7-14-2021

Judge Thomas P. Thompson III of Marion County and President of the Conference of County Court Judges of Florida, hosted a virtual ceremony on July 14th swearing in Conference officers and directors and honoring award recipients.

Florida Supreme Court Chief Justice Canady administered the oath of office to the Conference Executive Officers, District Vice Presidents, and Circuit Representatives for 2021-2022 during a zoom virtual video webinar.

Chief Justice Canady also presented the Chief Justice Award of Judicial Excellence to Judge Linda Singer Stein of Miami-Dade County. The nominations recognized Judge Singer Stein as a champion for the county court through her selfless work, positivity, and dedication that the public is served. Her colleagues described her to be a proven leader in her intellect, her people skills in handling the different types of needs that are unique only to county court, and a true public servant who serves whole-heartedly.

Judge Joey Williams of Baker County serves as Chair of the Awards and Merit Committee. He recognized the nominees and recipients of three Conference awards.

Judge Charles J. Tinlin of St. Johns County was awarded the “Harvey Ford Award” which is given annually to the county court judge who has shown in this past year her or his “dedication of service to the community, to the legal profession, and to the conference itself.”

Judge Robert W. Lee of Broward County was awarded the “Special Tribute to Amy Karan Award” given to the county court judge that educates, works with, or otherwise encourages stakeholders in their public service, and is a visionary to improve the legal system.

The “Non-Judicial Award” was given to all county court judicial assistants in recognition of their exemplary work going above and beyond the call of duty that is extraordinarily supportive to county court judges.

The Wednesday evening program recognized the accomplishments of the past year and embraced the responsibility of the Conference for the coming year.

Beverly Brown, Executive Secretary
[email protected]